Get Lost ! email to a former virtual “friend”…

My drawing and cover of my book O ENCENADOR DE SI MESMO (The Staging of The Self)

My drawing and cover of my book O ENCENADOR DE SI MESMO (The Staging of The Self)

Mixed media on paper circa 1982 (NYC)

Mixed media on paper circa 1982 (NYC)

A year ago today, I tried committing suicide here in Wengen. I survived.

It wasn’t easy, as you might well imagine. Apart from the humiliating fact of ‘having survived’ a failed attempt, life had to go on. Yet, the pain of living never subsided.

It’s a year later to the minute, to the second, as I stare out into the darkness and remember

the ice cold day – just as today, the minus 6 Celsius or something like that, as the helicopter rescue team found me frozen still, mummy still, stillness still.

Unfortunately I’ve come to a point where it proves silly (just pointless and silly) – after so many emails and (almost confessions) to be discussing with you what art is and isn’t, what an artist is and isn’t, since I AM and artist and you are not.

My veins are all out there open as they always have been. I don’t copy and paste other people’s work.

It’s my life on the line, a thin blue line, a tightrope, just as my life is, lived out in public. That is why my posts resonate and (perhaps) yours don’t.

My patience has worn thin.

You are NOT a concrete poet because, as Haroldo de Campos himself told me “concrete poetry was a thing I did in the 1960’s”

We’re in 2016.

Get Lost.

Gerald Thomas

__________________________________________________________

Portugues:

Exatamente ha um ano hoje, eu tentei me suicidar aqui em Wengen (Alpes Suíços). Sobrevivi. Não foi nada fácil, como você deve imaginar. Além do fato humilhante de ter sobrevivido a uma ‘tentativa fracassada’, a vida teria que continuar. Mesmo assim, a dor de continuar vivendo nunca desapareceu.

 Agora,  precisamente um ano depois, nesse minuto, nesse segundo, enquanto eu olho com os olhos vagos por essa escuridão lá fora e me lembro daquele dia gélido, exatamente como hoje, tipo 6 graus negativos (ou algo assim), enquanto os helicópteros de resgate me acharam congelado e duro, duro e parado, parado e mumificado, mumificado e no ultimo suspiro do silencio da múmia total.

Infelizmente cheguei num ponto em que se prova ridículo, bobo e ridículo (babaca e bobinho) – depois de tantos e-mails e (quase confissões), estar discutindo com você o que é arte e o que não é e quem é artista e quem não é, já que EU SOU artista e você não é.

Minhas veias estão ai abertas como sempre estiveram. Eu não copio e colo o trabalho de outras pessoas. É a minha vida na mira de fogo, na linha, numa linha bem tênue ou numa corda bamba. Minha vida é vivida abertamente em publico sem segredos e é isso que um artista é: um experimento do publico. Senão não tem graça. Talvez seja por isso que meus posts tenham ressonância e os seus …não, nenhum.

Minha paciência se esgotou.

Você NAO é um poeta concreto porque, como o próprio Haroldo de Campos me disse ….”Poesia Concreta é algo que eu fazia lá pelos anos 60”

Estamos em 2016.

Me deixe cara!

Gerald Thomas

After only 13 hours after posting, an overwhelming response on Facebook

After only 13 hours after posting, an overwhelming response on Facebook

 

 

 

 

Comments Off on Get Lost ! email to a former virtual “friend”…

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.